Withdrawal Agreement Vote March 2019


In July 2017, David Jones, Minister of State for Exiting the European Union, told the House of Commons that he expected a parliamentary vote on the Brexit deal with the EU «before the European Parliament debates and votes on the final deal». Asked what would happen if MPs and members of the House of Lords decided they didn`t like the deal, Jones said: «The vote will be either to accept the deal. Or there will be no agreement. [13] At a meeting of the European Union`s special committee in October, Labour MP Seema Malhotra Davis asked: «Could the vote of our Parliament, the British Parliament, take place after March 2019? [Note 2], to which Davis replied, «Yes, it could be. [14] This has drawn criticism from opposition Labour MPs and some Conservative MPs. [15] [16] 1. MEPs have just voted clearly that we should never leave the EU without an agreement2. The government lost because so many Conservatives, including ministers, ignored what party leaders had to do.3 May warns that if MPs do not accept her deal, the reality is that it means a long delay to Brexit4. Votes on the tmrw postponement The British House of Commons voted by 330 votes to 231 in favour of the Withdrawal Agreement. When the bill returned to the House of Commons on June 20, the government offered further concessions. The concessions led the government to win by 319 votes to 303: a majority of 16. [61] [62] Since parliament approved an extension of Article 50 to 30.

The possibility of a third meaningful vote was raised[98] and the President decided that «the same proposal or essentially the same proposal» could not be brought back during the same parliamentary session. [101] [102] The Political Declaration was then withdrawn from the vote to make a different proposal. [103] But it is still unclear whether it will pass – both the Labour Party and the Democratic Unionist Party have said they will vote against the withdrawal agreement on Friday. On 23rd June 2016, the majority of British voters who voted in the British referendum on membership of the European Union voted to leave the European Union (52% to leave the European Union and 48% to stay). Today, MEPs voted to reject a government motion that would have approved the withdrawal agreement negotiated with the European Union. After reading the result of the vote, Mrs May said: «The options available to us are the same as they have always been. Despite these assurances and other legal guarantees from the EU, the House of Commons rejected the agreed compromise package three times (on 15 January, 12 March and 29 March 2019). One Labour MP (Paul Flynn, absent due to prolonged illness)[78] included the seven Sinn Féin MPs pursuing a policy of abstention and eight others: Speaker John Bercow, Vice-Presidents Eleanor Laing (Conservatives), Lindsay Hoyle (Labour) and Rosie Winterton (Labour); in addition, cashiers` votes are not taken into account (for the Ayes, Wendy Morton and Iain Stewart, both Conservatives, and for the Noes, Vicky Foxcroft and Nick Smith, both Labour). [79] [80] After five hours of debate, MEPs voted by 344 votes to 286 to reject the motion. It was a majority of 58. Although she has won a few, including former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, a number of Brexiteers still refuse to vote for the deal.

He must win more than 75 rebels to overturn the 149-vote rejection of his deal, which was last voted on March 13. .